The mission of the Library & Information Commons at Seattle Children’s is to connect faculty and staff to the knowledge-based information they require to make informed decisions in support of patient care, teaching, research and advocacy. The Library collaborates with its users through programs, services and collections to achieve these goals.
The Library & Information Commons is located on the main campus of Seattle Children’s Hospital. It’s staffed by 3 professional medical librarians. In its 2800 square feet, there are public user computer stations, wireless network connectivity, study carrels, a self-checkout workstation, an online catalog lookup station, a self-service copier/scanner, an AV station, a conference room with overhead projection, print journal and book collections, a reference collection, an information desk and staff offices. Access to the Library is available to faculty and staff 24/7.
The Library’s onsite collection consists of about 3,500 books and about 30 print journals. Online, the Library provides access to about 1,300 textbooks and 2,500 medical journals, with an additional 25,000 journals/magazines in assorted disciplines.
Other online resources include:
- Bookworm: the Library’s online catalog
- Journals A-Z and Article Linker: tools for linking to online journal full text
- RefWorks: for citation management and generation of bibliographies
- Research Protocols: from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories and JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
- Clinical Decision Support Tools: DynaMed, VisualDx, UpToDate
- Ovid: providing access to Medline, PsycInfo, and the Cochrane Library
- EMBASE, “the European Medline”
- Web of Science: cross-disciplinary database in the sciences and citation tracking
- CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health)
- InCites: for journal impact factors
- Others: BoardVitals (board certification prep), Natural Medicines, NORD (National Organization for Rare Disorders) and ProQuest (a suite of general interest, newspaper and academic databases)
Access to online content is available to anyone with Seattle Children’s network privileges, whether onsite or remotely (UpToDate access is onsite only). Some of the Library’s resources are also available for mobile devices: a Go Mobile page on the Library intranet site offers a list.
Additional Library services include reference and literature searching, document delivery/interlibary loan, expert searching and other support for evidence based practice/clinical effectiveness projects and a fully developed intranet site with links to all the Library’s online resources.
Librarians provide regular learning opportunities by way of orientations, tip sheets and online tutorials, individual planned and ad-hoc instruction, presentations, and scheduled classes. Topics include database searching, citation management, overviews of library resources, and introductions to evidence based practice and systematic reviews.
The Library is a full member of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, a program of the National Library of Medicine.